BYLINES does not post opportunities that require a submission fee. Learn more.

Sunday, December 22, 2019


web site

The Four Quartets Prize is for a unified and complete sequence of poems published in America in a print or online journal, chapbook, or book in 2019. Three finalists will receive $1,000 each. The winner will receive an additional $20,000.

Submissions must be postmarked between October 1, and December 23, 2019.

The submission must be accompanied by this entry form.

Contact Brett Fletcher Lauer, Deputy Director, with any questions:

Fourteen pages of published poems unified by subject, form, and style is the minimum per submission. Entire books composed of a unified sequence however long are also welcome.

Only one submission per author will be considered.

Submissions will be accepted from authors, publishers, and literary agents up to December 23nd 2018. There is no submission fee.

The prize is to be presented by the T.S. Eliot Foundation in partnership with the Poetry Society of America.
The announcement of the short list will take place in Spring, 2019, followed shortly by the announcement of the winner.

The Four Quartets Prize is first and foremost a celebration of the multi-part poem, which includes entire volumes composed of a unified sequence as well as novels in verse and book-length verse narratives.

Gwendolyn Brooks's sequence A Street in Bronzeville , published as a book in 1945 as well as her The Anniad, published in book form in 1950, are also examples of eligible sequences. 77 Dream Poems (1964) and His Toy, His Dream, His Rest (1968) by John Berryman are other examples.

The unity of shorter sequences, which are enthusiastically welcomed, should be apparent but also articulated in a paragraph describing the aims of the sequence. Such a statement should accompany each submission, book-length or shorter.

This is an inclusive rather than a limited set of criteria, so as to welcome a wide range of work.

Blog Archive