BYLINES does not post opportunities that require a submission fee. Learn more.

Wednesday, March 31, 2021

Literary Rebel


Are you a sword and sorcery fan? Do you pen tales of savages and wizards in your spare time? Have you always wanted to be a published author but have no idea where to start? Literary Rebel is seeking talented writers to feature in Savage Realms Monthly! The best part… We pay!

Savage Realms Monthly is a new sword and sorcery magazine for fans of R.E. Howard, Karl Edward Wagner, and Michael moorcock, featuring heroic tales of savage barbarians, evil wizards, and beautiful maidens. We aim to revitalize the Sword and Sorcery genre with brand new tales of adventure from some of today’s most talented authors. Our first issue is scheduled to land in January and will be available in Kindle and print formats.

Send us your best sword and sorcery themed tale of no more than ten thousand (10,000) words and, if we like it, we’ll pay for first publishing rights. Don’t worry, you as the author will retain the copyright to all characters and locales so you are free to publish stories within your fictional universe in other publications in the future. We’ll even link to any websites, social media, or storefronts you desire.

Submission Guideline

We get a lot of mail asking about submission guidelines, so here goes: send the first three pages of your story in a Microsoft Word Document attachment to the following email address; submissions@literaryrebel.com

Be sure to put your name and an email address where we can reach you somewhere in the document. That’s it! Many people ask what font they should use. We don’t care. Font size? Don’t care. Margins size? Don’t care. Spacing? Don’t care. 

Unlike the literary snobs who run the traditional publishing houses, we here at Literary Rebel aren’t complete troglodytes. We know how to select all and change a font we don’t like or resize a font that is too small for our aging eyes. So put the first three pages of your best work into a MS word Doc, attach it to an email and send it over to us. If we like it, we’ll email back asking for the full story. Feel free to introduce yourself in the body of the email and let us know if you’ve published somewhere before, though prior publishing credits are not necessary.

What We Want

We are looking for stories about tough guys and gals that harken back to the golden age of pulp sword and sorcery. We want stories with a plot, the hero should have a specific goal and a plan to reach it. Your story should have danger and plenty of action. And before you ask, sex is okay. Think Robert E. Howard, Michael Moorcock and Karl Edward Wagner.

What We DON’T Want

Please don’t send us stories about insecure adolescents/youths trying to win the heart of the most popular boy/girl in the village. Don’t send us stories about insecure adolescent/youths in magic school. Please don’t send us stories about insecure adolescents/youths. Seriously, just don’t. Don’t send us romance. Don’t send us stories where characters spend ten pages talking about the politics of your imaginary realm. And definitely don’t send us political ideologies thinly disguised as story.

The Fine Print

If we like your story and decide to publish it, we will pay you 25.00 US dollars. We know twenty-five bucks is not a lot of money, but we are a small start up and running this magazine on a shoestring budget. At the moment, twenty-five is all we can afford. Hopefully in the future we’ll be able to pay authors what they deserve for excellent quality fiction. We are paying for first printing rights for 12 calendar months. That means that you retain all story, world, and character rights. It’s YOUR story. And you can sell it again one year after we publish it. We also link any and all social media or published materials so readers can get to know you and buy other published material by you.

Blog Archive